top of page
  • Miranda Cheong

Questions from a Hopeless Romantic


Have you ever been in love? Well, I haven't.


Yeah, I have a few crushes along the way but nothing too serious.


Why didn't I confess?


Back then, I thought I was just too afraid to confess, but now when I look back, it just didn't feel right for me to do so.


Now, as a young adult, I am genuinely curious about love. What does it feel like to look someone in the eyes and just feel that spark? Is it exactly like what was described in books? How there's this tingling spark even if it's just the simplest touch? Do the butterflies in the tummy actually exist? Is it really hard to breathe when they stand extremely close to you and your heart just skips a beat?


I have seen many beautiful couples that have vowed their undying love for each other and have promised to stay by each other's side until the end. This is such a big responsibility to take on. A sheet of paper that vouches for the sense of loyalty and trust between two individuals, for eternity.


What if it doesn't work out? Another piece of paper comes through to signify a broken bond and shattered promise, and that's it? Do feelings just come and go as they please? What kind of pain and hurt does a heartbroken person experience? I have seen people taking years to mend their wounds, while some, just days.


Does a person change before and after a relationship? Do people actually change for their significant other? Do habits and lifestyles change for compromisation? How often does it happen?


How is the love mutually reciprocated? Do people just spend time with each other or is there something more? How does attraction work? How does a mutual attraction work? And how do you know? How can you be sure that it's mutual and not just one-sided?


I may not have answers but I hope one day I'll be able to understand it and hopefully, be able to genuinely feel it.


bottom of page