top of page
  • Miranda Cheong

By Your Side (Pre-Quel to Nothing Lasts Forever)

Updated: Sep 27, 2021


Long eyelashes, light pink cheeks and those slightly parted kissable soft lips of hers. Looking at her angelic face, I feel all warm and fuzzy. Even though her eyelids are down, I can still picture her light brown eyes that are always filled with curiosity. I want to touch her, feel her so badly, but all I can do is just reach out my hand and lightly stroke her hair. She stirred and her eyes slowly flutter open after my own doing. She sat up and looked at her surroundings with her eyebrows pinched then she looked right at me. I held my breath as I hoped that she can see me and reach out to me but that hope went to the drain as she looked away as if she saw nothing. I hate that feeling of being unnoticed. 


She got up and went to the bathroom. I sat down on the floor of her bedroom and waited for her majesty to come out. After what felt like forever, she came out in a pair of comfy shorts and a shirt from her aunt. She proceeded her way to the living room as she hipped and hopped over the pillows that were on the floor then entered the kitchen. I followed her suit and sat at the dining table. She made herself some hot chocolate since she hasn't developed a taste for coffee. Well, you can only blame me for that. I pampered her with chocolates. Chocolate cake, chocolate flavoured ice cream, the moment I found out that she doesn't like coffee, everything seems easier. I recalled that I even bought her a huge tub of Nutella for her birthday a few years back, she finished it in a month. 


She sat down and started eating her breakfast but she doesn't seem to enjoy it. Her face was emotionless. Suddenly, she tensed up and looked right at me. She looked like she was trying to figure out something like she was trying to see me. So, I waved, I waved frantically like a lunatic. I was trying so hard but she looked away. She stood up and went to the sink to wash her dishes.


Her tracks stopped at the living room. Instantly, her face showed determination. She started to clean up, picking up pillows and arranging them nicely. Her bedroom was the next station, which looks like an aftermath of a tornado. The books that she frustratingly threw last night were put nicely on the table in her novel section. I was leaning against the door frame, watching her clean up the mess that she created last night when a sudden urge to hug her came to me. I hugged her from behind and she immediately tensed up, like she felt my hug. I let go just not to freak her out. I instantly regretted doing that. I don't really know what's going on in my mind right now, one moment I want to touch her, feel her, one moment I was afraid of letting her know I was standing in the same room as her.  


She went over to her wardrobe and picked up the jacket I gave her as she liked it a lot. She held it close to her and breathed it in. She softens and her whole body relaxed instantly. She hanged the jacket in her closet after holding onto it a little while more.


After an hour or two, she crawled onto her bed and started to let sleep fall over her. I think it's time, so I crawled onto space on her bed next to her. Suddenly, she jolted awake and looked right at me. I smiled and reached out to put my hands on her cheek. She softens up but her eyes were still looking through me. Drops of tears started to fall from those beautiful brown pair of crystals.  You know that I hate to see you cry. I spoke to her mind, then a smile was instantly written on her face. I smiled back, Now that's better. This is the last time I am seeing you. I need you to give me your word that you would be happy even when I'm not here. 

 Panic immediately paints her face. 


"You're are leaving me again, aren't you?"


I'd never lie to you, Carly. I just want to know, do I have your word?


"You have my word, Jake McArther."


And you have my word that I will always love you and only you, Carly Summers. I leaned in to kiss her lips one last time. 


I stood up and pulled the blanket over her while taking in one last look at her. I hope she will move on and be happy. I was about to leave but then the jacket in her closet caught my eye. I wonder if I could still fit it. I walked over and put it on. It still fits nicely, but I can't take this with me. She still needs to have a piece of me with her. I put it down right next to her, letting her know that I will always be with her. I walked out of the room and looked back. I sure would miss her. I love you, Carly. And here comes the legendary light.

 

I jolted awake as the kiss ended. I look around to see if the dream wasn't a dream but it was. He is really gone. The presence around me suddenly seemed lighter, like a person just left, the air I breathe in was more. And then I only understood that it was him all along. I stood up and went to the bathroom, but before I went inside, I noticed that the jacket he gave me was on my bed, right next to where I slept. I smiled to myself and lightly shook my head. His habit will never change, alive or not.

bottom of page